Sustainability and Value Added in Agricultural Supply Chains

Two cotton farmers using the AI-based Pest Management App based by Wadhwani Institute for Artificial Intelligence. Copyright: © Welspun Foundation For Health And Knowledge. Project farmer Mr. Bhanudas Sarjerao Moharle from Ajgaon village in Wardha district...

International Forest Policy (IWP)

OBJECTIVE Improvement of forest-political aspects in the international and German development cooperation COUNTRYGlobal DURATION01 Oct 2016 - 30 Sep 2021 Commission AgencyBMZ CONTACT PERSON Mr. Herbert Christ herbert.christ@giz.de

Programme Implementing the Nagoya-Protocol of the Convention on Biological Diversity (ABS Initiative)

OBJECTIVE Stakeholders in pilot and partner countries and regional and international organisations use contributions from the ABS Initiative to operationalise access to genetic resources and the fair and equitable sharing of benefits arising from their utilisation. COUNTRYGlobal DURATION01 Apr 2015 - 31 Mar 2022 Commission AgencyBMZ CONTACT PERSON Dr. Andreas Drews andreas.drews@giz.de

Soil protection and rehabilitation for food security

OBJECTIVE Approaches for sustainable soil protection and soil rehabilitation have been implemented at scale in selected partner countries COUNTRYGlobal DURATION11 Nov 2014 - 31 Mar 2025 Commission AgencyBMZ CONTACT PERSON Dr. Anneke Trux anneke.trux@giz.de ...

Sustainable fisheries und aquaculture

OBJECTIVE Advice to the development policy in the fisheries sector and in the context of small-scale fishers and farmers to support sustainable forms of fisheries and aquaculture, and thereby contribute to food security, income generation and resource protection. COUNTRYGlobal DURATION01 Oct 2020 - 30 Sep 2022 Commission AgencyBMZ CONTACT PERSON Dr. Mark Prein mark.prein@giz.de

Support Project Conservation of Biodiversity on Land

OBJECTIVE The federal ministry of economic cooperation and development (BMZ) engages in shaping policy and moreover also implementation processes, which serve the conservation of biodiversity on land, particularly with a view on the Agenda 2030. COUNTRYGlobal DURATION01 Apr 2019 - 31 Mar 2022 Commission AgencyBMZ CONTACT PERSON Ms. Silke Spohn silke.spohn@giz.de

Climate Policy Support Project

OBJECTIVE The integration of transformative approaches for emission-neutral and climate-proof development in line with the Paris Climate Agreement into German and international development cooperation is improved. COUNTRYGlobal DURATION01 Mar 2019 - 28 Feb 2022 Commission AgencyBMZ CONTACT PERSON Ms.Maria-Jose Poddey maria-jose.poddey@giz.de

Global project Food Security and Strengthening of Resilience

CONTEXT Around the world, almost 690 million people are undernourished and another two billion are chronically malnourished. Malnutrition is particularly widespread in sub-Saharan Africa and Asia, preventing individual human beings from developing their potential and affecting the development opportunities of entire countries. Inadequate provision of micronutrients such as iron, zinc and...

Mainstreaming EbA – Strengthening Ecosystem-based Adaptation in Planning and Decision Processes

Field trip of the International Community of Practice. Copyright: Global Project Mainstreaming EbA OBJECTIVES Strengthen the ability of decision-makers at international, national and local level to mainstream EbA into policy and planning processes. DESCRIPTION The global EbA Project supports the mainstreaming and application of ecosystem-based approaches to climate change adaptation. The project...